top of page

The First Hockey Association in India

Hockey Bengal (earlier known as Bengal Hockey Association) is proud of being the oldest Hockey organization in India. It was established in 1908, 17 years before even Indian Hockey Federation (now parent body is Hockey India)  was founded.

Bengal has a rich and glorious hockey history and has many firsts to its name. The first National Hockey Championship of India was held at Kolkata in 1928. Then it was called the Inter-Provincials National Hockey Championship. In all 05 provinces of undivided India participated.

The first Indian Hockey Team for the Amsterdam Olympic Games was also selected in Calcutta after the 1928 National Hockey Championship.